Pacific Biosphere Reserve Network (PacMAB)

You are here

The Pacific Biosphere Reserve Network (PacMAB) was established in 2006 and now comprises members from Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Samoa and Tonga. The members of the network have agreed to actively collaborate for the integration of biodiversity conservation management and sustainable development, recognizing the uniqueness of the cultural, social and environmental context in the Pacific Islands.

Three of the 621 Biosphere Reserves are in the Pacific Islands (two in the FSM and one in Palau) and several more in Samoa, Tonga and PNG are proposed sites for biosphere reserves.  At a regional meeting in April 2014, the PacMAB member countries re-affirmed their commitment through a statement to further develop the proposed Biosphere Reserves as well as identify new pilot sites. The Biosphere Reserve Concept was actively promoted at the 3rd International Conference on Small Island Developing States in September 2014.