Skip to main content

This document presents a synopsis of the current state of knowledge for hawksbill turtles in the western Pacific Ocean region, including biological and ecological knowledge of nesting and foraging populations, legislative provisions, and detailed recommendations and proposals for addressing identified deficiencies. We collated and synthesised information from scientific and grey literature, reports from the Turtle Research and Monitoring Database System (TREDS2) hosted by the SPREP, the new (2021) online marine turtle breeding and migration atlas “TurtleNet”3 developed by Queensland’s Department of Environment and Science (DES) in collaboration with the CMS, and turtle experts within the western Pacific Ocean region. In this document, we review the remaining 22 countries and territories that, for the purposes of this review, make up the western Pacific Ocean region (including IOSEA non-members), namely: American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Wallis and Futuna. 

Full Report (Pdf)