Skip to main content

Community Conservation in the Arnavon Islands

Since 1995, the Arnavon Community Marine Conservation Area Management Committee has been central to all conservation and development activities in the Arnavon Islands. This Committee is made up of representatives from the indigenous users of the Arnavon Islands, the communities of Kia, Katupika and Waghena. It also brings together representatives from Isabel and Choiseul Governments, the Ministry of Environment, Climate Change, Disaster Management and Meteorology, the Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources and The Nature Conservancy. The ACMCA Management Committee employs Conservation Officers from the communities of Kia, Katupika and Waghena, who reside on the Arnavons for a month at a time, monitoring turtle populations and ensuring compliance with the management rules.